Ugwuh emerges Imo PDP Chairman


A former Minister of Commerce and Industry and one time gubernatorial candidate, Engr Charles C. Ugwuh has emerged the new chairman of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Imo State.
He was elected at the party’s State Congress which took place at the weekend at the Kanu Nwankwo’s Stadium, near the Imo State University, Owerri. Ugwuh emerged with other 38 officers of the party in what turned out a harmonization/consensus process.
The Chairman PDP Electoral Committee, Rt Hon Uzor Azubuike declared the result of the peaceful election where over 2600 voted as delegates. The officers were presented and sworn in same time by Barr Ekomaru shortly after the declaration of the result.
In his acceptance speech the new chairman thanked the party members for finding him and others worthy to serve promising not to let Imo people down because according to him ”Imo needs PDP”.
In his words, ”PDP lives by example and is an example of quality and principled leadership. With your trust in us we will not let you down. Ndi Imo should expect great things from PDP, should be confident that PDP is reinvigorated, restructured, strengthened and is coming to do good.”
”We will do all we can to ensure that PDP captures the mantle of leadership in the state. We are primed to work for Imo State. There is a new structure here to uplift PDP and deliver good governance”, he concluded. He called on those who were not elected to join the train to support move the party forward.
Governor Emeka Ihedioha in his statement expressed happiness at the outcome of the election which he described as peaceful. ”We are happy at the development, there is no victor no vanquished, we are proud and believe that the party will soar higher and higher,” he said.
The highpoint of it was its peaceful nature as it was conducted in a free and fair manner devoid of any rancor or bitterness, amidst happiness and exchange of banters.
The full presence of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), party officers from the national office and security operatives were on hand to ensure a smooth play of the event. The election process took all day winding up at past eleven o’clock.
Other principal officers elected include, Sir Martin Ejiogu, Deputy Chairman, Nze Ray Emeana, the Secretary, Nze Law Biaduoh (Organizing Secretary), Ogubundu Nwadike, Publicity Secretary, Maria Mbakwe, Women Leader, Kissinger Ikeokwu, Legal Adviser, Barr Josiah Eke, Treasurer, Barr Bede Ojinmadu, Financial Secretary


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here